Ingrid Goes West

I don’t feel comfortable critiquing music.
I do, however, feel comfortable critiquing films.

first-trailer-ingrid-goes-west-696x464.jpg

It’s been way too long since I’ve seen a movie so rooted in the current “millenial’-aged climate. Described as the “Single White Female” of my generation by all the elders that saw the early screening at Alamo Drafthouse with me, Ingrid Goes West takes internet stalking to a whole new level.

Funny, heartfelt and bordering on absolutely crazy, this movie will leave you crying tears of laughter and empathy. Plaza and Olsen give wonderful performances, even though they basically play themselves. But honestly, who doesn’t love them as themselves already? Afterwards, this movie left me feeling like I needed to purge myself from social media while making me wish I was in California, living some fabulous Californian life among fabulous Californians.

I understand this movie is supposed to warn about the hazards of social media. About putting too much of your life out there for the world to see. About making your private information public. About not really knowing someone because all their posts are curated to give off a certain identity. About being harassed online by people you’ll never meet. About becoming so engulfed in social media, you can’t separate it from real life.

But one must wonder: after walking away from this film, does it really highlight the dangers of social media stardom, or does it glorify it? Tell me what you think in the comments.

Overall? I really enjoyed the movie. 4 meows out of 5.
The film releases nationwide August 11. Don’t miss it.

Until next time,
That Guy

Leave a Reply

