Like Gold

No, you can’t do everything by yourself.

dsc_0026

Let me come clean with something. I can’t take full credit for my style. Over the years, it’s been influenced by many people along the way and has evolved into what you see now. All by designers and stylists and celebrities. But mostly by the people I surround myself with. They’ve all had a role in who I am now, in some way, and always make me feel like gold.

This girl is almost too fabulous to function. I’ve known Jazmine for years, and she’s one of my closest friends. I turn to her for a lot of things, especially style advice. We don’t see each other as much as we’d like, but when he do, we ooze fab.

We decided it was time to catch up, so we got together one Saturday afternoon to gossip over mimosas and get each other ready for our dates later that night.

dsc_0093

Don’t let her fool you. No matter what she says, she looks fabulous. Even at her worst.
Check out her blog here.

dsc_0054dsc_0032

First dates are tough, especially figuring out what to wear. The last thing you want is to show up looking fly and the other looks like they just rolled out of bed. My daily rule is always: better overdressed than underdressed. So that may be more points off for them, but that doesn’t help the mood. They’ll realize you’re overdressed and feel bad, or weirded out that your got so dressed up for an Applebee’s date.

dsc_0066

Luckily I had help to make sure I looked on point. But always keep in mind: dress for the location and take backup.

It was a first date and we were going to Steve-O’s, a hip local restaurant on the East side of town, so I threw on this mustard yellow button up and black slacks. Simple and colorful. I dressed the look down with the white Vans, to make everything feel more casual. As backup, I grabbed the blazer, just in case dinner turns into drinks. As a whole, it classes up the outfit without being too dressy but you don’t need it. Or won’t need it all night.

dsc_0049dsc_0016dsc_0058_1dsc_0022dsc_0038dsc_0076dsc_0079dsc_0071

Needless to say, I felt like gold that night. I bet he’d tell you the same.

dsc_0035

| Coat: H&M | Shirt: Forever 21 | Watch: Michael Kors |
| Chinos: PacSun | Shoes: Vans |

Don’t forget to check out Sheerstomping’s post! Click here!
Photos by: us!

Until next time,
That Guy

2 thoughts on “Like Gold

Leave a Reply

